Tour of the Fireflies 2013

I had been feeling stuck with my work recently, so I had the itch to post something that screams ‘motivation’. And what’s more motivating than 14,000 cyclists biking around 7 cities in sweltering Metro Manila, to promote biking for clean air? As an avid biker, I excitedly joined the annual Tour of the Fireflies last November, organized by The Firefly Brigade. 37km is the longest I’ve ridden so far in one go. πŸ™‚ It was exhausting but claiming whole roads for a couple of hours was a blast.

Tour of the Fireflies 2013 kodak ektar canon ftb
Man-made rainbow!

Tour of the Fireflies 2013 kodak ektar canon ftb
Marcos Bridge in Barangka, Marikina, one of the four bridges that connect Quezon City to Marikina.

Tour of the Fireflies 2013 kodak ektar canon ftb
kodak ektar canon ftb  (4 of 7)
Bonifacio Ave. Bridge. Most of the pictures here were taken during the Marikina City leg, because what can I say, I love my city!

Tour of the Fireflies 2013 kodak ektar canon ftb
Yes, we can co-exist with cars. More bike lanes, please! And decent ones at that.

kodak ektar canon ftb (2 of 7)
On the way back to C5

kodak ektar canon ftb (1 of 7)

Now I need to untangle myself from my demotivation, and cross that finish line. :<

I’m not really happy with these pictures; I find the colors washed-out and they lack the pop that I usually get from Ektar. I most probably messed up the exposures (too overexposed?). Nevertheless, writing this post is therapeutic! πŸ™‚ Have a great rest-of-the-week, everyone!

2 thoughts on “Tour of the Fireflies 2013

  1. even film like Ektar is unpredictable sometimes…but i like this πŸ™‚
    and it is good that it made you feel better to post!
    you go girl ❀

Leave a Reply

